The wooden articular church, The new evangelical church
The church dates back to
the times of religios opression of protestants, who were
only allowed to build their own churches in 1681
following the 26.-th article of the Sopron assembly.
Protestant churches were allowed to be built on an
exactly marked place always outside town fortification.
The costs of the construction were carried by the parish,
that was the reason why wood was used as the only
construction material, also nails were wooden. The first
building stood in 1687, in 1717 the church was
reconstructed. It is placed on four rounded columns and
circuit walls. Together approximately 1500 people can sit
the ground and six choirs. In 1985 the church was
declared the National cultural memorial.
The new evangelical church
reaches the end of the 19.-th century (1894), when in the
old wooden church arose statical problems. Kezmarok
protestants decided to build a new, more representative
church. Plans were donated by Theofil Hansen - the main
architect of Austrian - Hungarian monarchy. In the
interior rules strict symetry (very non-typically are
impressing two pulpits). In the church there is the tomb
of Imrich Thököly, the leader of anticaesarian
uprising. It was built in 1909.
The Holy Cross basilica, The Paulinius church
The Holy Cross basilika has its beginnings in a Slavic settlement, which is witnessed by its name - Windischgrund /slavic area/ used for centuries. The oldest stone parts are from the 13.-th century. Today's shape has the basilika received in an imposing gothic reconstruction in 1444-1498. The town Kezmarok and also castle owner Zapolsky also helped by the reconstruction - both maecenas immortalized their coats-of-arms in the small portal of the church. The vault has three patterns - net, star and cross pattern which is also a sign of reconstructions. Another sign is the sanctuary, which is placed higher than the main ship. The interior is mostly gothic - side altars, baptistery, benches. From 1518 is a reniassance bench under the big choir, where the town council and mayor used to sit. One of the most valuable part is the statue of Christ from the main altar, which is thought to be carved in the master Vit Stwosz's workshop. Next to the church there is a renaissance belfry from 1591.
The Paulinius church
church was built on the place of three citizen houses
donated by (at that time) protestant town to the
catholics. That was an act of gratitude because the
prominents of catholics helped them by conflict with the
Thököly family - owners of Kezmarok castle. The church
was built in 1654. In 1741 it was burned down and 6 years
later began its late-baroque reconstruction paid by the
Paulinius church. The interior is also gothic.
The building of today's
town hall was originally built in gothic style in 1461.
In 1541 - 1555 it was rebuilt in renaissance style, in
1641 the tower was erected. After a fire in 1779 another
- this time classicist reconstruction took place. It got
the today's shape after the last fire in 1922 - the
second floor was added. On the south side there is a part
of a late - gothic triple - window and an original
renaissance portal with the coat-of-arms fo Kezmarok. On
the east side parts of gothic and renaissance windows can
be seen. Nowadays the town hall serves as a seat of town
A guard tower stood
originally on the place of today's redoute, later rebuilt
to a renaissance house. In 1705 - 1707 there was printing
office of Matej Glaser - Vitriari in the building , in
which books in Slovak, German, Hungarian and Latin
languages were printed. In 1818 the house was rebuilt
into today's shape and since that time it has been
serving as a centre of cultural life in Kezmarok. On the
facade there is the coat-of-arms of Kezmarok painted and
an inscription, which says that the house serves for
guards, guests and entertainment. Today there is the town
library and a cinema in the building.
The Old Market street
The Old Market
street is thought to be the oldest street in Kezmarok -
the foundations of most houses are from the 13,-th
century. On both upper and lower parts of the street
there are typical regional craftsman houses - behind the
houses there is torso of town fortification concluded in
the direction to the castle with the former Lower gate.
The most interesting are the houses No. 33 and 47 - both
are thought to be the buildings of the first Kezmarok
town hall and later hospital.
Michael's hill is a valuable archeological locality. In 1987 the foundations of the St.Michael's church from the 12-th century were disclosed. The church belonged to one of the oldest settlements on the area of future Kezmarok. The church was built in 12-th century, in the 13-th century tower was erected. A large burying ground was disclosed by the church. After the incrusion of Hussits it was pulled down in 1434. Its foundations, which were mostly underground, were partly destroyed during the construction of railroad in 1889 and railway station in 1914 - 1916.